Updated March 18, 2020

Federal Worker Adjustment Retraining Notification (WARN) Act applies to employers with 100 or more employees, but several specific rules and exceptions to this regulation exist. Certain states where you have operations or employees may also have adopted Mini WARN Acts. If you are governed by the federal or a state(s) WARN Act, you will be required to give the State government or Department of Labor, as well as your employees, prior notice of any lay off. Some notice requirements are up to 60 days.  Be sure to seek legal counsel in advance to ensure your compliance with these laws.

In addition to the federal WARN Act, these states have enacted their own Mini-WARN Acts:

  • California
  • Illinois
  • Maryland
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Tennessee
  • Wisconsin

The information above is intended to act as a general resource and therefore does not address all considerations and jurisdiction-specific analyses that may need to be undertaken prior to taking action. Thus, employers should seek specific counsel.